HS Dance Teacher awarded $4k fellowship


Arkansas Arts Council Announces Recipients of Individual Artist Fellowship Awards
Artists to Be Honored at Statewide Arts Conference

LITTLE ROCK, AR – The Arkansas Arts Council is pleased to announce the recipients of its Individual Artist Fellowship awards. The artists will be recognized at ArtLinks 2015, the Council’s statewide conference for the arts. The awards reception and presentation is scheduled for 6-8 p.m., Sunday, Oct. 25, at 21c Museum Hotel in Bentonville. Seating is limited and reservations are required. For reservations, call (501) 324-9766. 

Awarded annually, the fellowships recognize individual artistic ability and creative excellence in literary, performing and visual arts. These $4,000 fellowships enable artists to set aside time for creating their art and improving their skills. Three artistic disciplines are selected each year as categories for the awards.

The three categories for this year are Literary Arts: Screenwriting; Performing Arts: Dance Choreography; andVisual Arts: Sculpture/Installation Art. The recipients were selected by a jury of professional artists, writers, performers and art administrators. 

Literary Arts: Screenwriting
Jennifer Gerber, Hot Springs
Hardin Young, Fayetteville

Performing Arts: Dance Choreography
Karen Castleman, Bentonville
Marisa Kirby, North Little Rock

Visual Arts: Sculpture/Installation Art
Dayton Castleman, Bentonville
Joe Ford, Jonesboro
Dawn Holder, Clarksville

About the Arkansas Arts Council

The Arkansas Arts Council advances the arts in Arkansas by providing services and supporting arts endeavors that encourage and assist literary, performing and visual artists in achieving standards of professional excellence. In addition, the Arkansas Arts Council provides technical and financial assistance to Arkansas arts organizations and other providers of cultural and educational programs.

The Arkansas Arts Council is an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage. Other agencies are the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Old State House Museum. Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is provided by the State of Arkansas and the National Endowment for the Arts.